3 days to go and still no snow falling

Another stunning day in Whistler.  The sun was out, blue sky with enough of a breeze for the flags in the Village to billow.  Up until about 4pm I think most folk were walking about without jackets.  When the sun goes down it does get chilly and sometimes the toque is required.

I think I am snow jinx!  I love the snow and where I live we don’t usually get a great deal.  Although, this year we did get more than I have seen in a very long time.  Since I got here there has been very little snow here in Whistler, maybe a few centimetres.  On Cypress Mountain down in Vancouver the conditions are that bad snow is having to be trucked in, dumped by helicopter or bull-dozed from stock-piles on the other side of the mountain to make the snowboarding and freestyle runs.

After my shift finished at 11:00 and I was walking home from the bus stop I looked up to see the stars shining very brightly in the clear sky.  Where I am staying in Creekside there is not very much street lighting, it reminds me of Sedona, Arizona where there is the minimum of street lighting on purpose.  It makes it possible to see the stars clearly without interference from man-made lighting.

Olympic Village Welcome Centre

Yesterday I had a new job in the Daily Arrivals Hall.  The Daily Arrivals is the main area where athletes and officials enter the Village through the security area.  Many coming in are already in residence in the Village and returning from training at venues.  However, we are still welcoming guests to the Village as teams continue to arrive for the first time.  Yesterday, we welcomed guests representing Austria, Peru, Switzerland, India and GB.  We would assist them with their luggage, taking them to their accommodation by truck or on the Village shuttle.

One of the most interesting arrivals yesterday was the first alpine skier from Iran to compete at the Winter Games.  Marjon Kalhor will compete in the Alpine Slalom and Grand Slalom.

I enjoy seeing the variety of colour around the Village, whether it be the dressing on the buildings or the clothing the athletes wear.  In yesterday’s blog entry I mentioned how smart the US team looks in their gear, today it is the Czech team.  You can’t miss the Czech team in their very colourful outfits, particularly the patterned trousers/pants.  I like it.  It maybe a bit loud but I like the colours and the effort the designers have put into the uniform.

I am going try to take a photo of all the interesting team uniforms, some do look a tad dull but most are colourful/smart.  Here is the Czech team’s Village uniform:

Czech team uniform

3 Responses to 3 days to go and still no snow falling

  1. sc00py says:

    finally somebody ho likes czech outfit =) after things written by Reuters and by Vancouver Sun as they called it garish and migrene bringing I’ve thought that only czech people like it xD (as almost everybody here in CzechRep does =))

    • Thank you for your comment. I do indeed like the Czech team’s outfit and I smile every time I see it 🙂

      I hope you are enjoying the Olympics

      • sc00py says:

        Of course I am…even if I’m little annoyed with the time shift as every live broadcast starts here in the evening, continues late night…and what’s in Canada in night is here soon in the morning. So for example our hockey team’s first match against Slovaks on Thursday starts when here’s 6am, that’s the time I’m waking up for school =/ I’m sure you understand me as in your homeland it’s nearly the same…
        Anyway, I really like all about the games, from the organization and everything looking so nice to the fact, we’ve already won two medals, one gold in speed skating and bronze in cross country skiing =)

Leave a Reply

